About Us…

The Australian National Cake Decorators’ Association Inc. (ANCDA) began on the 9th November 1981, with the foundation Members being the Australian Capital Territory, Queensland, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia. They were joined by the Cake Decorators Assoc. of NSW in 1982 and the Northern Territory Cake Decorators in 1985. 

Gaena Duncan from the Cake Decorators Association of WA was instrumental in the formation of the Association, and went on to become our first National President. 

On this page:

Management of the ANCDA
National Judging Team
ANCDA Roll of Honour

Management of the ANCDA

The ANCDA is managed by a National Executive Committee who is made up of individuals from within the Member Associations. 

​The National Executive holds such position for two years and on a rotational basis, the responsibility is passed on through Member Associations.  The role of the executive is to manage the day-to-day administration of the ANCDA, fundraising, running a National Competition, and providing support to it’s Members.

​The ANCDA is goverened by a Constitution & By-Laws.

National Judging Team

All ANCDA Associations, have a team of Judges that support the Cake Decorating and Sugarcraft competitions that go on not only within their Association by providing judges, they also provide judges for many of the Cake Decorating & Sugarcraft competitions that go on within their community.  These competitions can be at the State Royal Agricultural Show, or other Metropolitan or Regional Agricultural Shows and large baking exhibitions such as the Cake, Bake & Sweet Show.

From these teams of judges our Associations put forward those State Judges they believe have shown exemplary skill and service to the world of competitions, to be considered as National ANCDA Judges.  These applications are then assessed by the ANCDA who exam the applicants experience and expertise before awarding them the title of National ANCDA Judge.

The following group of judges have achieved such a level.  They provide Judging support to the National Seminar and other National and International Activities.

New South Wales
South AustraliaPhillis Davis
Pamela Lane
Helen Pumpa
TasmaniaRosemary Kerrison
Western AustraliaAnette Gifford
Gail Dorter
Shirley O’Rielly
Lilyan Taylor
Lyn Flegg
QueenslandSusanne McGregor
Marie Sidhom
Helen Dissell
Greg Cleary

Roll of Honour

The Roll of Honour Recognises the contribution of people who have given of their time and talent for the benefit of others.   

1984Jean MacKayNSW
1997Maxine HallidaySAFirst editor of the Australian Sugar Craft Magazine
Past National President
2001Bernice VercoeNSWServices to cake decorating
2005Gaena DuncanWALaunched the idea of the ANCDA
1st National President
2011Betty DebnamTASServices to cake decorating
Past National President
2015Gwen EldridgeQLDServices to cake decorating
Past National President
2015Anette GiffordWAServices to the ANCDA
Past National President
2023Helen PumpaSAServices to the ANCDA

Scroll to Top